Being woken up by my mom crying on the phone, I go into her room and ask what's wrong. I get no answer. I ask my dad I get no answer but to get ready for school and that I didn't need to worry about it. I was eleven years old when one of the most important person in my life was pronounced d...e...a...d dead.


Before this happened, I was happy and taking life day by day. I was my papa Genes little girl, and I felt like the luckiest girl in the world. He lived an hour away and traveled a lot but I always talked to him on the phone, and when he came to visit it was like he has always been there and been connected. He was such a great man and knew how to treat a girl right. We always had such a fun time together. I could never get mad at him. He was one of the most important people in my life. I was glad I had him on earth.


The middle of his event was so so so hard! I was weak I was always sad and depressed. When I first found out he was sick he never improved on getting better. He said he was because he wanted to show me and my family how independent and strong he was and that's exactly the type of man he was. I remember him being on his deathbed and I made him a get well papa card, and when I gave it to him, the smile on his face was unforgettable! It looked like his whole body healed for five minutes. When I gave him a hug and kiss I could just see in his eyes he wanted to feel better and heal to show me how strong he was.


When he finally passed away my mom got a phone call at five a.m. Saying he passed away and that's when I woke up by my moms cry's. I remember getting dressed and my dad saying "Listen kid, Papa Gene passed away this morning." Right then and there I just felt broken. A million things were running through my head. I just wanted to break. I was bawling my eyes out and just shaking. All I wanted to do is just run to my papa and feel his protection and arms wrapped around me. I knew I had to be strong for my mom since it as her dad and for my younger brother. It felt like I had a weight on my shoulders. It was very hard and to this day it's still hard. Just writing about him makes me miss him more.


After this tragic event wore off I'm not as weak and I can look at old pictures of him and talk about him. Day by day I'm getting stronger. I'm older and I understand more than what I did before. I know that he's in a better place now, and he's not sick and in pain anymore. Since this even happened I take life and family more serious and important. I was my papa’s little girl before and I always will be. I have an amazing angel watching over me now.


Everyone in your life is in there for a reason. God gave us all these people to bless us with, so take advantage of the people you're close with cause someday God is going to need those people back even though it might hurt you. Just know that everything happens for a reason and you'll find out eventually. The Lord has you in his hands. So love the people who make you happy, and forgive the people who don't and move on. Thank God for what you have, cause someday it will be gone.






Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I love helping people and giving to others. I am so blessed with all the wonderful friends and family that are in my life. (:

    Archives

    January 2014

    Categories

    All